Landlord/Tenant Issues

Civil

Some Colorado housing laws protect victims of domestic violence, unlawful sexual contact (including sexual assault), or stalking who are renters.

1) A landlord cannot evict (kick out) a tenant (renter) who is a victim of domestic violence, sexual assault, or stalking because of the crime, or because the victim called law enforcement because of the crime. Landlords also cannot fine (charge) a renter for asking for help from the police for one of these crimes. Renters cannot be asked to waive (give up) the right to call the police for help. This means that renters can always call the police for help from domestic violence, sexual assault, or stalking.  

2) Victims of domestic violence, sexual assault, or stalking may not have to pay for damage caused to the rental property if it was caused by an abuser/perpetrator during a crime.. 

3) Victims of domestic violence, sexual assault, or stalking may be able to terminate (end) a lease if they follow the required steps:

Step 1: A written statement from the tenant (renter) to the landlord that states: 

  • They are a victim of unlawful sexual behavior, stalking, domestic violence, or domestic abuse; and 
  • They need to move due to safety concerns for themselves and/or their children; and 
  • The termination of the lease is pursuant to C.R.S 38-12-402 (2)(a).

Step 2: Attach Evidence of Victimization to the written statement. 

  • Evidence of unlawful sexual behavior, domestic violence, or domestic abuse can be a: 
    • police report written within the last 60 days; or 
    • valid protection order (civil or mandatory); or 
    • written statement, within the last 60 days, from a medical professional who has seen the victim; or
    • written statement, within the last 60 days, from an Address Confidentiality Program Application Assistant who has consulted with the victim. 
  • Evidence of stalking can be a
    • Evidence of stalking can be a: 
    • police report written within the last 60 days; or 
    • valid protection order (civil or mandatory); or 
    • written statement, within the last 60 days, from an Address Confidentiality Program Application Assistant who consulted with the victim.

After a victim ends their lease and informs their landlord they have moved out, they are responsible for paying one month’s rent (from the date of move-out), which is due within 90 days.

Notice to a landlord that someone is a victim or a victim’s new address cannot be shared with anyone else without permission from the victim, unless required by law.

For more information about rights for a renter who has faced Domestic Violence, please click here.

Find legal representation in your area.
List of courts by county.

If you or someone you know needs help on this topic, click here for some Denver-based and national organizations that may help you.

To see Colorado statutes on landlord/tenant issues, click here.