Victim Compensation for Crime Victims
If you are the victim of a crime in Colorado, or if you are a Colorado resident who has been victimized in a state or country that does not have a victim compensation program, you may be eligible to receive crime victim compensation funds.
Victims may be eligible to receive up to $20,000 for out-of-pocket expenses not covered by insurance or other collateral resources, or up to $1,000 in emergency funds directly related to the crime. These funds are collected from fines from defendants convicted of felony, misdemeanor, and some traffic offenses. Victims must contact the victim compensation administrator in the district where the crime occurred to determine eligibility.
Compensation Eligibility Requirements (C.R.S. §24-4.1-108)
Losses directly related to the crime are eligible for reimbursement and include:
Note: Please refer to Colorado Revised Statute (§24-4.1-109) and/or the program administrator in the district where the crime occurred for a comprehensive list of compensable losses and other victim compensation requirements.